Sunday, 21 April 2019
Latest news
Main » Phil Mickelson breaks rules again, this time at Greenbrier

Phil Mickelson breaks rules again, this time at Greenbrier

09 July 2018

Phil Mickelson, criticised after he absorbed a two-shot penalty for an intentional rules violation at the US Open, was on the wrong side of golf's rules again at the Greenbrier Classic on Sunday. Sizing up the 439-yard par-4 7th hole on the tee, Phil wandered up to the front of the tee box and trod down some rogue fescue grass with his foot.

Mickelson returned to his ball and, while preparing to hit his tee shot, said, "I'm not sure what I just did was legal".

The 48-year-old duly explained the situation to a rules official, who confirmed Mickelson had violated Rule 13-2 by "improving his line of play".

On his latest gaffe, in the final round at Greenbrier, Mickelson says he "wasn't really thinking".

Nirbhaya gang rape: Supreme Court to decide on death sentence, Monday
According to reports, Justice Ashok Bhushan has written judgement for himself, Chief Justice Dipak Misra and Justice Bhanumati. The verdict has been recieved unanimously with approval by the general public who feel Nirbhaya has recieved justice atlast.

Mickelson immediately realised his mistake and reported himself to a rules official, which resulted in him receiving a two-stroke penalty and carding a double-bogey six.

Mickelson shot 74 on Sunday to finish 1-under 279 for the tournament, which was won by Kevin Na.

'My anger and frustration got the best of me last weekend.

"I know this should've come sooner, but it's taken me a few days to calm down", Mickelson said. I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions.

Phil Mickelson breaks rules again, this time at Greenbrier