Friday, 19 October 2018
Latest news
Main » Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor win Managers of the Year

Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor win Managers of the Year

15 November 2017

Paul Molitor has won the American League Manager of the Year award after his Minnesota Twins became the first team to make the playoffs following a 100-loss season.

In his first season, Lovullo helped the D-backs improved by 24 games and make the playoffs for the first time since 2011. As well, the Diamondbacks this season claimed a spot in the NL Wild Card Game, which they won over Black's Rockies. Dodgers manager Dave Roberts, who finished in second place, received five first-place votes, eight second-place votes, and six third-place votes.

How's that for a rookie campaign?

A bench coach with the Red Sox for four years before taking the Arizona job, Lovullo is the third Diamondbacks manager to win the award, following Kirk Gibson in 2011 and Bob Melvin in 2007.

Roberts received five first-place votes while Black and Counsell received three apiece. The Twins lost in the one-game Wild Card playoff by the Yankees.

Trump approval ratings dip back to near his lowest
The university conducted its latest poll of 1,577 registered voters from November 7 to 13 through cell phone and landlines. But "American voter opinions of most Trump qualities remain negative", the university's poll report states.

Francona, who won the award a year ago, led the Indians to an AL-best 102-62 record and an American League record 22 wins in a row.

Molitor wins the honor in his third year with the organization, having come off a 59-win season in 2016. He had a Hall of Fame career as a player, spending 21 seasons in the big leagues including his last three with the Twins. The AL favorites are Minnesota's Paul Molitor, Cleveland's Terry Francona, and Houston's A.J. Hinch.

Molitor joined Frank Robinson as the only Hall of Fame players to win a manager of the year award, which was first presented in 1983. Former Yankees manager Joe Girardi also received votes.

Molitor won the honor Tuesday in voting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor win Managers of the Year